A Writing Major’s Semester

writing textbooksThis pile of books has me immensely excited. And a little overwhelmed.

During this semester, I get to learn all about the publishing industry, the job of a copy editor, the role of agents, the rise of self-publishing, and the importance of marketing and sharing one’s work. I’ll also spend time writing essays, flash fiction, creative nonfiction, and fiction manuscripts while exploring grammatical choices that have rhetorical effects.

It’s pretty exciting, at least for me.

Because for me, the publishing industry has been like a nebulous world. No one really knows exactly what goes on, and publishers and editors and agents are all too busy to give information about their secret world.

Thankfully, that is not quite reality, and in this semester I will actually get to hatch into that world.

During the next few months, I will be chewing through these bound wonders and sharing what I learn here on this blog, so look forward to future posts about these books and the publishing world.

Leave a comment